Election Results: Ayu, Okowa, Other PDP Leaders To Protest At INEC Headquarters Today

Flash Sales
Phones and Tablets
PDP Okowa

The National Chairman of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Iyorchia Ayu, and the party’s vice presidential candidate, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State, will lead other staunch party members on Monday in a rally protest at the Abuja headquarters of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). ) against the results of the presidential election.
Information Nigeria reports that INEC has declared Progressive Congress (APC) candidate Bola Ahmed Tinubu the winner and president-elect in the February 25 vote.

Tinubu collected 8,794,726 votes to beat Atiku Abubakar of the PDP with 6,984,520 votes and Peter Obi of the Labor Party (LP) with 6,101,533 votes.

However, Atiku and the PDP rejected Tinubu’s claim as the winner, saying the election was flawed and would take it to court.

Meanwhile, in what appeared to be a way to challenge the results, the opposition party informed its members that a rally would be held outside the INEC building on Monday morning. Ibrahim Bashir, Administrative Director of the PDP’s Presidential Campaign Council (PCC), in a statement, informed Party members that the rally will begin at Legacy House in the Maitama area at 10:00 a.m. bright.

PDP PCC CEO and Sokoto State Governor Aminu Tambuwal also issued a similar statement on Sunday, saying the dress code for attendees was black.

The notice said:
“I am ordered to respectfully invite Your Excellency:
National President, Dr. Iyrochia Ayu,  Vice Presidential Candidate and Governor of Delta State, Dr. Ifeanyichukwu Okowa.

“The governors of; Akwa Ibom and PCC President, Mr. Udom Emmanuel, Sokoto State and PCC CEO, Rt Hon Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, and Governors of Bayelsa, Edo, Adamawa, Bauchi, Taraba, and Osun States.

READ ALSO:  INEC Suspends Collation In Obingwa LGA, Abia & 2 LGAs In Enugu

“Former Senate President, Senator David Mark and Senator Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, BOT Member, NEC Member, PDP Senator and House Member, NWC Party Member, DDG, Director, Deputy, and Director NCMC Delegate; PAC Member;

“Leaders of People with Disabilities and all other stakeholders in the protest march to the INEC office. “Try to be on time.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply