Declare Kano Governorship Election Inconclusive – APC Tells Tribunal

Flash Sales
Phones and Tablets

The All Progressives Congress (APC) petitioned the Kano Prefectural Electoral Petition Court to declare the March 18 elections in the state inconclusive.
The party is opposing the claim of Alhaji Abba Kabir-Yusuf of the New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP) as the winner of the Independent National Election Commission (INEC) election.

Recall that the NNPP’s Kabir-Yusuf won 1,019,602 votes to defeat his opponent, the outgoing State Deputy Governor, APC’s Dr. Nasiru Gawuna,  who won 892,705 votes.

In a five-volume petition filed on April 9, the APC alleges that the NNPP’s Kabir-Yusuf was ineligible to run because his name was not on the list of members. NNPP members are sent to ‘INEC.

The defendants in the lawsuit are NNPP, Kabir-Yusuf, and INEC.  The APC alleges that the NNPP did not win the election with a legal majority of votes, arguing that some of the votes were invalid and that if excluded from the score, the APC would have the highest number of votes.

The APC alleges that Resident Electoral Commissioner Kano (REC) erroneously declared Kabir-Yusuf the winner, adding that the lead was no greater than the number of broken votes.

The party asked the court to declare that the NNPP had no candidate and that Kabir-Yusuf’s name was not on the list of voters sent to INEC at the time of the election.

The APC asked the court to declare its candidate, Dr. Nasiru Gawuna, the winner of the election.

Instead, the party also asked the court to declare the election inconclusive, alleging that the margin was no greater than the number of invalid votes. Meanwhile, legal counsel Malam Abdul Adamu-Fagge of Kano APC told NAN that the court had made a unilateral recommendation to examine the election documents of the governors in all 44 local governments. in the state.

READ ALSO:  You Really Need To Resign As Soon As Possible – Timi Frank Urges INEC Chairman Mahmood Yakubu

NAN reports that APC gubernatorial candidate Gawuna is not participating in the petition.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply