University of Cross River State History

Flash Sales
Phones and Tablets
University of Cross River State Cross River State

Cross River State University, also known as UNICROSS, is a state-owned institution of higher education with four campuses in four local government areas of the state. The university was formerly known as Cross River University of Technology (CRUTECH). It was renamed in February 2021 following a bill passed at the Cross River State Assembly, which was subsequently passed by State Governor Benedict Ayade. The renaming of the higher education institution is intended to allow the university to function as a regular university, providing an opportunity to offer professional courses rather than technology-related courses.

The university took over the vernacular name of the state held by Cross River State University, Uyo now Uyo University, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria until 1 October 1991, when the Federal Government of Nigeria established the University Uyo as a Federal University after the separation of the Akwa Ibom Region from the Cross River State in 1987. Uyo University inherits the students, staff, academic programs and overall facilities of Uyo. Cross River State University was founded by Cross River State in 1983. The Office of the Vice Chancellor, Vice Chancellor and Bursar are all located at the Calabar Campus, which is considered the main campus of the institution, located in the South Calabar Local Government Area in River State, Southern Nigeria. The college was founded in 2002 by then-Governor Donald Duke by merging three higher institutions:
Calabar Polytechnic, Ibrahim Babangida College of Education and Agricultural College. It offers undergraduate and graduate courses. The university currently has campuses in Calabar, Obubra, Ogoja and Okuku.

READ ALSO:  End SWAT in Jesus Name – Native Doctor Chants During Protest In Delta (Video)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply