States In Nigeria And Their Slogan

Flash Sales
Phones and Tablets
States In Nigeria And Their Slogan
Nigeria map and flag - High Detailed Vector Illustration

States In Nigeria And Their Slogan

The Federal Republic of Nigeria is a federation of 36 states and 1 federal capital territory. Each of the 36 states is a semi-autonomous political unit otherwise called a federating unit that shares powers with the Federal Government as enumerated under the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The Federal Capital Territory (FCT), is the capital territory of Nigeria, and it is in this territory that the capital city of Abuja is located.

The FCT is not a state but it is administered by elected officials whom the Federal Government supervises with a supervising minister of FCT as the coordinator. Each state is subdivided into Local Government Areas (LGAs). There are 774 local governments in Nigeria. Under the Constitution, the 36 states are co-equal but not supreme because sovereignty resides with the Federal Government.

It is also a known fact that each state in the federation has its own peculiarities and competitive advantages, making them different from others. Peculiarities like agriculture, culture, tradition, minerals, and natural resources give credence to the slogan each state bears.

After her independence in 1960, Nigeria was a Federal State of three regions: Northern, Western, and Eastern. Additionally, provinces that were legacies of colonial and protectorate times remained extant until they were abolished in 1976. In 1963, the Mid-Western Region was created out of the Western Region. In 1967, the regions were replaced by 12 states by military decree. From 1967 to 1970, the Eastern Region attempted to secede as a nation called Biafra during the Nigerian civil war. In 1976, seven new states were created, making 19 altogether. The Federal Capital Territory was established in 1991, In 1987, two new states were established, followed by another nine in 1991, bringing the total to 30. The latest change was in 1996, resulting in the present number of 36 states.

READ ALSO:  Chioma Onyekwere Biography
State Capital Slogan
1. Abia Umahia God’s Own State
2. Adamawa Yola Land of Beauty
3. Akwa Ibom Uyo Land of Promise
4. Anambra Awka Light of the Nation
5. Bauchi Bauchi Pearl of Tourism
6. Bayelsa Yenagoa Glory of all lands
7. Benue Makurdi Food Basket of the Nation
8. Borno Maiduguri Home of Peace
9. Cross River Calabar The People’s Paradise
10. Delta Asaba The Big Heart Ifeanyi Okowa
11. Ebonyi Abakaliki Salt of the Nation
12. Edo Benin City Heart Beat of Nigeria
13. Ekiti Ado – Ekiti Land of Honour and Integrity
14. Enugu Enugu Coal City State
15. Gombe Gombe Jewel in the Savannah
16. Imo Owerri Eastern Heartland
17. Jigawa Dutse The New World
18. Kaduna Kaduna Centre of Learning
19. Kano Kano Centre of Commerce
20. Katsina Katsina Home of Hospitality
21. Kebbi Birnin Kebbi Land of Equity
23. Kwara Ilorin State of Harmony
24. Lagos Ikeja Centre of Excellence
25. Nasarawa Lafia Home of Solid Minerals
26. Niger Minna The Power State
27. Ogun Abeokuta Gateway State
28. Ondo Akure The Sunshine State
29. Osun Oshogbo Land of Virtue
30 Oyo Ibadan PaceSetter State
31. Plateau Jos Home of Peace and Tourism
32. Rivers Port Harcourt Treasure Base of the Nation
33. Sokoto Sokoto Seat of the Caliphate
34. Taraba Jalingo Nature’s Gift to the Nation
35. Yobe Damaturu Pride of the Sahel
36. Zamfara Gusau Farming is Our Pride



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply