Lagos Assembly Speaker, Obasa Wins Sixth Term

Flash Sales
Phones and Tablets

Mudashiru Obasa, Speaker of the Lagos State Parliament, was elected to represent the Agege 1 constituency in the National Assembly for a sixth term.
Dr. Lukman Adeniji, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Agege Constituency Election Officer, made the statement Sunday at the Agege Orile Collection Center.

He said eight political parties had put forward candidates for Saturday’s election.

According to him, Obasa received 17,214 votes to defeat Labor Party’s Raheem Alani with 3,933 votes, ADC’s Kafayat Biobaku with 62 votes, and the PDP with 1,609 votes.

“APC’s Mubashiru Obasa met the requirements of the law, received the highest number of votes, was declared the winner, and was re-elected,” Adeniji said. In a related development, APC’s Alhaji Jubreel Abdulkareem also won a seat on the Agege 2 Constituent Assembly.

Abdulkareem, the former chairman of the local government of Agege, won 15,676 votes to defeat the Labor Party and PDP candidates, who voted 7,159 and 1,598 respectively.

READ ALSO:  Presidential election: Amaechi voted for Atiku, he’s no longer APC leader in Rivers – Okocha

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply