History Of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology

Flash Sales
Phones and Tablets
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology Ogbomoso

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) is a tertiary institution located in Ogbomoso, Oyo State, Nigeria. The university has more than 30,000 students and employs more than 3,000 workers, including contract workers

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology
LAUTECH gate, Ogbomosho.jpg

LAUTECH gate, Ogbomoso
Former name
Oyo State University 
Motto Excellence, Integrity, and Service
Type university of technology
Established 23 April 1990 (33 years ago)
Chancellor Umar Faruq Umar II
Vice-Chancellor M.O Liasu (acting)
Administrative Staff
Students 25,000


Oyo State



8°8′0″N 4°16′0″ECoordinates: 8°8′0″N 4°16′0″E

Campus Ogbomoso North
Colors   Maroon
Affiliations AAU
Website lautech.edu.ng


In 1987, Governor Adetunji Olurin, then the military Governor of Oyo State (now divided into two states:
Oyo and Osun), received a request from the Ibadan Polytechnic University Board of Trustees to establish a public university. In 1988, he established a seven-member inter-ministerial committee chaired by Ms. Oyinkan Ayoola, which recommended the establishment of the university. On 13 March 1990, the Federal Military Government of Nigeria accepted the state’s request. The decree establishing the State University of Technology was signed on April 23, 1990, by Colonel Sasaenia Oresanya.  The university’s first vice-chancellor was Olusegun Ladimeji Oke. Meanwhile, the late Bashorun M.K.O. Abiola became its first rector in January 1991. The university started its is first-course on October 19, 1990, with a total of 436 applicants registered, in four faculties namely Agricultural Sciences, Sciences, and Sciences. Environment, Engineering and Management and Pure and Applied Science. A College of Health Sciences was established a year later.

The university’s name was changed to the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology after separating Osun State from Oyo State. Foundations and Academics
The university has nearly 30,000 students in seven faculties and one college. LAUTECH also accepts more than 150 students through JUPEB for direct admission to 200/level each year.  For two consecutive seasons, in 2003 and 2004, the Nigerian University Commission (NUC) ranked LAUTECH as the best public university in Nigeria.

The main campus is in Oyo State. This campus is home to the university’s administration as well as the headquarters of six faculties and graduate schools. Areas of study include pure and applied science, medicine, agriculture, engineering and technology, and environmental science.

With no other facilities located in Osogbo, the Osogbo Campus was renamed UNIOSUN Teaching Hospital (UNIOSUNTH) after the recent Oyo State Government takeover of LAUTECH


The current principal officers of the university are:

People Position
Seyi Makinde Visitor
Professor Oladapo Afolabi Pro-Chancellor & Chairman
Umar Faruq Umar II Chancellor
Professor M.O Liasu Vice-Chancellor
Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Dr. Kayode Ogunleye Registrar
Mr. Abayomi Abiodun Okediji Bursar


Agricultural Sciences
  • Department of Agricultural Economics
  • Department of Agricultural Extension and Rural Development
  • Department of Crop Production and Soil Science
  • Department of Crop and Environmental Protection
  • Department of Animal Nutrition and Bio-Technology
  • Department of Animal Production and Health
Computing and Informatics
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Cyber Security Science
  • Department of Information System
Food and Consumer Science
  • Food Science
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Consumer Science
Environmental Sciences
  • Department of Architecture
  • Department of Fine and Applied Arts
  • Department of Urban and Regional Planning
Engineering and Technology
  • Department of Agricultural Engineering
  • Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Computer Engineering
  • Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Food Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
Pure and Applied Science
  • Department of Earth Science
  • Department of General Studies
  • Department of Pure and Applied Biology
  • Department of Pure and Applied Chemistry
  • Department of Pure and Applied Mathematics
  • Department of pure and Applied Physics
  • Department of Science Laboratory Technology
  • Department of Statistics
Management Sciences
  • Department of Management and Accounting
  • Department of Transport Management
  • Department of Marketing
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Business Management
Centers and academic establishments
  • School of Postgraduate Studies
  • Open and Distance Learning Center
  • Information Communication Technology center
  • Lautech Staff School
Basic Medical Sciences
  • Department of Medical Microbiology and Pathology
  • Department of Physiology
  • Department of Nursing
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Medical Laboratory Science
  • Department of Morbid Anatomy / Histo-pathology
  • Department of Haematology and Blood Transfusion
  • Department of Chemical Pathology||
Clinical Sciences
  • Department of Community Medicine.
  • Department of Medicine
  • Department of Surgery
  • Department Radiology
  • Department of Paediatrics
  • Department of Obstetrics
  • Department of Ophthalmology
  • Department of Psychiatry
  • Department of Oto-Rhino Zarincology
  • Department of Anaesthesia


  • Office of the Vice Chancellor
  • Registry
  1. Office of the Registrar
  2. Academic Affairs Unit
  3. Council Affairs Unit
  4. Planning, Budgeting & Monitoring Unit
  5. Personal Affairs Unit
  6. Academic Planning Unit
  7. Sports Development Unit
  8. Students Affairs Unit
  • Bursary
  • Library
  • Physical Planning Unit
  • Works and Maintenance Department
  • Information and Communication Technology Center
  • Open and Distant Learning Center
  • Bookshop
  • Farm
  • Health Center
READ ALSO:  BREAKING NEWS!! Veteran Actor Nkem Owoh (Osuofia) Rejects N10M Offer To Endorse Tinubu

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply