History of Babcock University

Flash Sales
Phones and Tablets

Babcock University is a private Christian co-educational university in Nigeria owned and operated by the Nigerian Adventist Church. The university is located in Ilishan-Remo, Ogun State, Nigeria, equidistant between Ibadan and Lagos.


Babcock University


old name

West African Adventist College, West African Adventist Seminary


Knowledge, Truth, Service






Seventh-day Adventist Church


Bassey Effiong Okon Udoh


Ademola Tayo

Vice president

Iheanyichukwu Okoro

vice Prime Minister

Ademola Tayo[1]

vice president

Francis F. Daria, Oyeleke A. Owolabi[1]




Ilishan-Remo, Ogun State, Nigeria

6.894°N 3.7187°E


Main Campus Ilishan-Remo, Small Campus Iperu, Remo

Government recognized



green and yellow



In 2017, the school had its first batch of graduates from the Ben Carson School of Medicine


It is part of the Adventist education system, the second largest Christian school system in the world.


Babcock University is named after an American missionary named David C. Babcock who pioneered the work of the Adventist Church in Nigeria in 1914. He is based in Erunmu in the state. Oyo, Nigeria.


The school was founded as the Adventist College of West Africa (ACWA) in 1959, initially with only seven students; who were staying at the house of chief Olufemi Okulaja. In 1975, it changed its name to West African Adventist Seminary (ASWA). The school was officially inaugurated on April 20, 1999.


Academic block


To the original four, Babcock University added a graduate school in the third quarter of 2010 and a medical school in January 2012. The latest additions are the music and educational institutions departments. at the Joel Awoniyi School of Education & Humanities. In 2013, Babcock hosted eight schools and two colleges:

READ ALSO:  I Have Decided To Lift 100 Million Nigerians Out Of Poverty - Buhari

they are

School of Social Sciences with departments like Economics, Social works etc.

School of Management Sciences with departments like Accounting, Business Administration, Marketing, etc.

College of Health & Medical Sciences

School of Science & Technology

School of Computing & Engineering Sciences with departments like computer science, software engineering, etc.

School of Education and Humanities with departments like Education, etc.

School of Law & Security Studies with departments like Law, International law and diplomacy, etc.

School of Nursing with departments like Nursing, etc.

School of Public & Applied Health with departments like Public Health, etc.

College of Post Graduate Studies.

.Notable alumni


Adenike Akinsemolu, environmental sustainability advocate, educator, author, a social entrepreneur.

Davido, Musician & Performer.

Debo Ogundoyin, Speaker Oyo State house of Assembly.

Olumide Oworu, Nigerian actor.

Beverly Osu, actress and model.

Olamide Samuel, International security expert


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply