History Of Ambrose Alli University

Flash Sales
Phones and Tablets
ambrose alli

Ambrose Alli University (AAU) is a public university located in Edo State, Nigeria. It was founded in 1981 by the Governor of Bendel (now Edo and Delta states), Ambrose Folorunsho Alli. Originally known as Bendel State University, later known as Edo State University, and eventually renamed to its present name in memory of Professor Ambrose Folorunsho Alli, AAU was recognized by the National University Commission (NUC). receive and recognize.[2][3] The Ambrose Alli University Library contains the institution’s resources.

The current vice chancellor (acting) of the university is Sunny Adagbonyi. He was appointed by Edo State Governor Godwin N. Obaseki on February 8, 2022.

Former Deputy Prime Minister Ignatius A. Onimawo  is recognized for its unique implementation and application of information and communication technology (ICT) in all aspects of the organization’s day-to-day operations.


  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Communication Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering & Technology
  • Faculty of Environmental Studies
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Life Sciences
  • Faculty of Management Sciences
  • Faculty of Medical Laboratory Science
  • Faculty of Physical Science
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • College of Medicine
  • Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
  • Faculty of Clinical Sciences


The university library began its official operation in 1983. The first university librarian was hired in 1982, and the library’s initial book collection consisted of 36,509 volumes, including 30,818 books and 5,691 government documents, as well as 369 journal titles. When the library opened, there were 24 staff members, including 20 juniors and 4 seniors. During its first years of existence, the library went through a series of moves when it came to finding the right office space. The library’s first move was from a temporary office to a temporary administrative building, then it moved to a three-bedroom house, before moving to the Emaudo campus in December 1982, this is the permanent location of the library. The library was then moved to the Ujemen campus in 1987, where there was a more academically friendly atmosphere. In 1999, a three-story library was officially opened by the head of state, occupying 14,000 square meters. The current library system consists of a main library and a number of auxiliary libraries. It is a hybrid library system that provides print and non-print resources.

READ ALSO:  Nollywood Veteran Actress, Rachel Oniga Dies At Age 64


Ambrose Alli University announced the dismissal of four professors for serious misconduct. The dismissal was approved after an emergency meeting held on December 1, 2021


  • Samantha Agazuma, Nigerian cricketer
  • Alibaba Akpobome, Nigerian comedian
  • Benedict Ayade, governor, Cross River State
  • Buchi, a comedian
  • Aisha Buhari, wife of the current president, Muhammadu Buhari
  • Tony Elumelu, chairman, heirs holdings; successful Nigerian investor, philanthropist & entrepreneur[21]
  • Don Jazzy, singer and entrepreneur
  • Festus Keyamo, lawyer, socialist, critic, columnist and human right activist
  • Samuel Oboh, Canadian architect and president of the Alberta chapter of Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC)
  • Omawumi, singer
  • Peggy Ovire, Nigerian actor
  • Chris Oyakhilome, founder, Christ Embassy

Official Website



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply