History of Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU)

Flash Sales
Phones and Tablets

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU) is a Federal University of Technology located in Bauchi, Northeastern Nigeria. The university is named after the first and only Prime Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa. ByThe university’s motto is “Doctrina Mater Artium”, which means “Education is the mother of the arts of practice”.

Other nameA:- TBU “Makera” A place where students are being taught and well trained

Motto:-  “Doctrina mater artium”(Education is the mother of all practical arts)

Type:- Public

Established:- 1980

Chancellor:- Rufus Adeyemo Adejugbe Aladesanmi III (Ewi of Ado-Ekiti)

Vice-Chancellor:- Professor Muhammad A. AbdulAzeez

Administrative staff:- 1000

Undergraduates:- 10,000

Postgraduates:- 200

Location:- Bauchi, Bauchi State, Nigeria

Campus:- Urban

Affiliations:- Association of African Universities, National Universities Commission

Website:- http://www.atbu.edu.ng/

The university was founded in 1980 as Bauchi Federal University of Technology. The institution’s first students were admitted in October 1981 for preparatory and correctional programs while Science and Science Education courses began in October 1982. October 1, 1984 , the university merged with Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Nigeria with a name change to Abubakar Tafawa Balewa College, Ahmadu Bello University, Bauchi Campus. The university regained its autonomous status in 1988 after splitting these institutions. This was followed by a change of name to Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi. The university’s academic model was built in 1980 after consulting subject matter experts from Nigeria, the United Kingdom and the United States. The adopted curriculum has been adopted in nature, consistent with a technology-based institution, and this theme is maintained in all units of the university.

READ ALSO:  History of Adeleke University


The school offers degrees in seven schools:

School of Engineering, Science, Environmental Technology, Agriculture, Management Technology, School of Technology Education, and College of Health Sciences. It offers entry-level degrees as well as master’s and doctoral degrees. Each school is led by the Dean/Principal, who reports directly to the Vice Chancellor. The vice chancellor is the executive head of the university. The Vice-Chancellor is appointed by the Federal Ministry of Education on the recommendation of the University’s Board of Trustees.

The school’s library was established in 1981 to support teaching, learning and research with more than 1000 seats, 161,672 titles, 3442 titles and 2117 serial titles.[2] The virtual library has 25 computers on the Internet with Adib as the software for the library’s day-to-day operations. the university library purchased the registered databases and also got free access to some databases like HINARI, AGTORA and ESBCOHOST etc.

2 Department of Management & Information Technology

3 General Studies

4 Department of Accounting

5 Department of Technopreneurship

6 Department of Business Management

Faculty of Technology Education


S/N Name

1 Department of Education Foundation

2 Department of Science Education

3 Department of Vocational & Technology Education

4 Department of Library and information science

Faculty of Science


S/N Name

1 Department of Mathematical Sciences

2 Department of Biological Sciences

3 Department of Chemistry

4 Department of Geology

5 Department of Physics

6 Department of Biochemistry


Department of Ecology


Department of Biochemistry

9 Department of Microbiology

College of Medicine


The University has a college of medical Sciences that offers medical and health related courses. Also it has a college hospital Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Bauchi Teaching Hospital where medical Attentions is being attended to.

READ ALSO:  History of Kambari; Nigeria Naked Tribe


Read more on the official website

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply