History of Abia state University ( ABSU)

Flash Sales
Phones and Tablets

Abia State University, Uturu (ABSU) is a Nigerian public university. It is one of the public universities in Nigeria. These public academic institutions were established to expand enrollment and bring professional skills, specialist knowledge, and state-of-the-art research facilities closer to urban and rural residents , while helping talented students achieve higher levels of education.

The founding of the university took place in 1981 in the former state of Imo as Imo State University, Etiti. The university was founded by Sam Mbakwe when he was governor of the former Imo state. The main campus is located in Etiti, Imo State while the law faculty is located at a separate campus in Aba. Between 1984 and 1985, under the military government of General Ike Nwachukwu, the university moved to its permanent location at Uturu Okigwe.


Following the establishment of Abia State in 1991, the university’s Uturu campus was handed over to the State of Abia and is now known as Abia Uturu State University, Isuikwuato Local Government Area, Abia State, Nigeria. The university is organized into colleges and schools are founded on the same university system as that of the University of Nebraska.


Studies at Abia State University include:

undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees. It has two campuses – its main campus is in Uturu; and College of Law, College of Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine hosted by campus in Umuahia, capital of Abia State, Nigeria

Motto – Excellence and Service

Type – Public

Established – 1981

Chancellor – Tor Tiv: His Royal Majesty: James Ayatse

READ ALSO:  Ben Bruce Warns CBN Against Hasty Decision On Crypto

Vice-Chancellor – Professor Onyemachi Maxwell Ogbulu

Students- 20,400

Undergraduates -18951

Postgraduates- 1139

Doctoral students- 310

Location- Uturu, Abia, Nigeria

Campus- Rural/suburban

Website- Official website

Abia State University offers more than 90 undergraduate and graduate programs at ten colleges:-

  • College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • College of Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine
  • College of Biological and Physical Sciences
  • College of Business Administration
  • College of Education
  • College of Engineering and Environmental Studies
  • College of Law
  • College of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • College of Optometry
  • College of Postgraduate Studies

Below are the centers, boards and institutes of Abia State University;

Centre For Entrepreneurial Education

Student Affairs Department

Counseling Centre

Centre for Primary and Non-Formal Education

General Studies

Centre for Igbo Studies

Academic Planning


Sandwich Programme

Centre for Remedial Studies

University Examination Centre

Business Resource Centre

Institute for Distance Education (IDEA)

Institute for Computer Studies

Consultancies, Linkages & Revenue Mobilization

Institute of Arts & Sciences

Centre for Quality Assurance


Read more on the official website














Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply